top of page

Jazz Dispensary Announces ‘Top Shelf’ Reissues

Releases include DeJohnette’s Sorcery, Idris Muhammad’s Black Rhythm Revolution!, and Leon Spencer’s searing organ explosion Where I’m Coming From

Jazz Dispensary Vinyl By Craft Recordings

Jazz Dispensary is proud to announce the next harvest of its offerings from the Top Shelf series, with a triple groove of reissues featuring Jack DeJohnette’s Sorcery, Idris Muhammad’s Black Rhythm Revolution!, and Leon Spencer’s Where I’m Coming From. These reissues mark the first wide vinyl release of all three albums in over 40 years. As with every title in the Top Shelf series, which reissues the highest-quality, hand-picked rarities (all culled from Craft Recordings’ vaults), the albums have been cut from the original analog tapes (AAA) by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio and pressed on audiophile-quality 180-gram vinyl at RTI. The LPs are housed in tip-on jackets, featuring faithfully reproduced original designs. Available to pre-order beginning today (5/30), the releases are due out July 14th.

Jazz Dispensary Vinyl By Craft Recordings Jack DeJohnette Sorcery

In a career that spans five decades and includes collaborations with some of the most iconic figures in modern jazz, GRAMMY®️ winner Jack DeJohnette has established an unchallenged reputation as one of the greatest drummers in the history of the genre, collaborating with the likes of John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Ornette Coleman, Sonny Rollins, Thelonious Monk, Bill Evans, and so many more. Along the way, he has developed a versatility that allows room for hard bop, R&B, world music, avant-garde, and just about every other style to emerge in the past half-century. Sorcery finds DeJohnette teamed up with a tight crew of bandmates, including veterans of Miles Davis’s Bitches Brew sessions (bassist Dave Holland) and Herbie Hancock’s Headhunters band (Bennie Maupin).

Jazz Dispensary Vinyl By Craft Recordings Idris Mohommad Black Rhythm Revolution

Idris Muhammad was an American jazz drummer and bandleader. He had an extensive career performing jazz, funk, R&B, and soul music and recorded with musicians such as Ahmad Jamal, Lou Donaldson, Pharoah Sanders, Bob James, and Tete Montoliu. His pioneering approach which wed syncopated grooves, bluesy swing, and trademark funky breaks formed the backbone of his illustrious career. The New Orleans-bred rhythm king successfully made the leap from the finest soulful jazz records of the ’60s to the nastiest fusion funk of the ’70s, and Black Rhythm Revolution! catches him right on the cusp of the two in 1970, with one good foot in the get-down of “Express Yourself” and “Super Bad,” with a chaser of “Wander” and the other in his own heady excursions into modal rhythm and melody.

Jazz Dispensary Vinyl By Craft Recordings Leon Spencer

The last album of this batch of reissues is the very definition of ’70s soulful jazz. Organ magician Leon Spencer’s Where I’m Coming From has all the hallmarks of Prestige Records at its finest, with an all-star cast of sidemen. Recorded at Van Gelder’s studio and packed with down and dirty grooves top to bottom. From the opening cover of Stevie Wonder’s “Superstition” to the low-slung original headnodder “Where I’m Coming From,” with stops along the way dipping into the catalogs of Curtis Mayfield (“Give Me Your Love”), Marvin Gaye (“Trouble Man”) and the Four Tops (“Keeper of the Castle”), Leon Spencer’s rippling organ lines sear this prime example of groove jazz.



Tracklist – Sorcery


Side A 

  1. Sorcery #1 

  2. The Right Time 

  3. The Rock Thing 


Side B 

  1. The Reverend King Suite: a) Reverend King / b) Obstructions / c) The Fatal Shot / d) Mourning / e) Unrest / f) New Spirits on the Horizon 

  2. Four Levels of Joy 

  3. Epilog 


Tracklist – Black Rhythm Revolution!:


Side A 

  1. Express Yourself 

  2. Soulful Drums 

  3. Super Bad 


Side B 

  1. Wander 

  2. By the Red Sea 



Tracklist – Where I’m Coming From:


Side A 

  1. Superstition 

  2. Give Me Your Love 

  3. Keeper of the Castle 


Side B 

  1. Trouble Man 

  2. The Price a Po’ Man’s Got to Pay 

  3. Where I’m Coming From 


bottom of page