top of page
  • Writer's pictureezt

Preview: Stephen Stills: Live at Berkeley, 1971

A New Release From the Archives

Stephen Stills: Live At Berkeley 1971 is a 14-track collection of never-before-heard live performances which will be released on April 28 by Iconic Artists Group and Omnivore Recordings. The shows were captured over two nights at the Berkeley Community Theater in Berkeley, California, on August 20 and 21, 1971.


Stephen Stills launched his first solo tour in the summer of 1971 to support his second record. He opened each show with a solo acoustic set and ended each night electrified. "The Memphis Horns Tour," Stills' historic inaugural tour, featured Stills at what many consider to be the top of his game.


The collection, which opens with Stills’ biggest hit, “Love the One You’re With,” the first single unveiled from the album, features a set list of instantly recognizable songs, including a seamless medley of “49 Bye Byes" and “For What It’s Worth," unexpectedly played on piano. David Crosby appears on “You Don’t Have To Cry” and “The Lee Shore.”


“The intimacy of the Berkeley Community Theater seemed to serve as a focal point between the audience and the energy surrounding the social climate of the day,” offers Stills. “It was my first tour as a solo artist and these shows were raucous and unrestrained, captured here in these recordings.”


Stephen Sills Live at Berkeley 1971 is now available for pre-order in various configurations, including 2LP, CD, digital, and a deluxe package. The deluxe package, encased inside a premium box, contains 2LP, four 8x10 photos by famed photographer Henry Diltz taken during Stills’ first solo tour, and a numbered limited-edition self-portrait framed lithograph, available exclusively at Stephen Stills Webstore.


Backed by The Memphis Horns, along with a cast of Stills’ friends, including Dallas Taylor (drums); Calvin “Fuzzy” Samuels (bass); Paul Harris (keyboards); Steve Fromholz (guitar); and Joe Lala (percussion), the original recording was produced by Stills and recorded by Bill Halverson. This historical reissue was produced by Kevin McCormick and Stephen Stills.


As a two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee, a member of the Songwriter’s Hall of Fame, and a GRAMMY® Award winner, Stephen Stills is one of rock music’s most enduring figures. Stills was a member of Buffalo Springfield, Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young, and Manassas. With an innovative approach to both acoustic and electric guitar, combined with lush vocal harmonies, Stills helped create the ‘California Sound’ with his best-known classic compositions, “For What It’s Worth,” “Love the One You’re With,” “Helplessly Hoping,” “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes,” and “Carry On.” Stills’ first solo album, Stephen Stills, earned a gold record and is the only album to feature both Jimi Hendrix and Eric Clapton and climbed to #3 on the album charts. 


Stephen Stills Live At Berkeley 1971 tracklisting:


Side One

1.Love The One You’re With

2. Do For The Others

3. Jesus Gave Love Away For Free

4. You Don’t Have To Cry (with David Crosby)

5. The Lee Shore (with David Crosby)


Side Two

1.Word Game

2. Sugar Babe

3. 49 Bye-Byes/For What It’s Worth


Side Three

1.Black Queen

2. Know You’ve Got To Run

3. Bluebird Revisited

4. Lean On Me


Side Four


2. Band Introductions

3. Ecology Song


bottom of page